Now in its 43rd year, the Western Manitoba Youth Choir was founded in 1980 by Mr. Derek Morphy, Mr. Bill Lawson and Dr. Earl Davey to give Westman students a high calibre choral experience unlike anything that was available at the time. Over the coming decades, and following the WMYC example, other regional youth choirs were formed across the Province of Manitoba, serving as tribute to WMYC's unique nature and success. This 2024 choir is compromised of 54 members who represent 17 Westman communities.

Each year WMYC greatly appreciates the support of the communities represented by the choristers and the communities visited on tour. As well, our organization could not function without the dedication of parent volunteers who chaperone at our two rehearsal camps and on tour as well as those who open their homes to the choir.

WMYC would like to thank the following Friends of the Choir:

Jan & Brian Bailey Julie Hutton David & Myra Bennet Lane Englunf **Bonar Birnie Brad McDonald** Cathy Scofield-Sinah **Bolduc Farms Bob Radcliffe**

Brandon Wheat Kings East Star Occupational Therapy Minnedosa Veterinary Clinic

Rivers United Church Ron's Appliance Service

Tim Hortons

Virden Music & Arts Festival Waskada Lions Club

Blair & Kim Chapman

Bill Lawson

Larry & Nola Meggison Tenley & Herman Dyck Murray & Donna Cameron

Helen Drysdale **Judy Poole Ruth Gray Beatrice Betts** Sid Gordon

Kelvin & Heather Lamb Melita & Area Lions's Club

Sheila DeForest

Westoba Credit Union Ltd Rotary Club of Neepawa Inc.

Neepawa & Area Community Choir

Prairie Vision Arts Council Kin Club of Neepawa

Tenley & Herman Dyck In Memory of Louise Lawson

WMYC 2024 Gold Sponsors:

Deloraine 2000 Club **Griffith Agencies** Tundra Oil & Gas

Royal Canadian Legion Branch #23 (Neepawa)

Beautiful Plains School Division

Konetkis Choir In Memory of Marie Angers











Western Manitoba Youth Choir 2024

Concert Tour October 19-22, 2024

Souris • Portage la Prairie • Carberry • Killarney Green Acres Colony • Boissevain • Deloraine • Brandon







Heritage Boundary Pembina Vallevview Neepawa-Gladstone









CHORISTERS

Adriana Hoskin	Souris	Julianna Laluk	Brandon
Alexander Glodek	Killarney	Jun Long	Brandon
Amelia Alphonso	Pierson	Kayden Waldner	Brandon
Amy McAuley	Rapid City	Lia Harder	Cottonwood
Angel Rabanal	Killarney	Liv McGill	Brandon
Annika Laluk	Brandon	Logan Tannas	Brandon
Arlo Connery-Dwyer	Brandon	Lucas Park	Brandon
Austin Penner	Justice	Luka Tegg	Brandon
Ava Irwin	Brandon	Madison Poole	Brandon
Avrin Krieser	Virden	Maia Placatka	Brandon
Bella Penner	Justice	Marc Strang	Brandon
Callie Ginter	Deloraine	McCanna Wiesner	Killarney
Charley Dunning	Virden	Micah Thiessen	Oak Lake
Charly Artz	Deloraine	Nathan Clincke	Brandon
Connor Tannas	Brandon	Noah Driscoll	Brandon
Danielle Asham	Brandon Hills	Owen Raes	Deloraine
Dannah Pentney	Brandon	Reed Plaisier	Virden
Declan Bartley	Killarney	Sarah Krahn	Rivers
Devin Kerman-Forsythe	Brandon	Sheen Calamba	Neepawa
Elise Armitage	Miniota	Siri Warwaruk	Neepawa
Ethan Fulford	Rapid City	Stefen Struth	Killarney
Gracie Blatherwick	Brandon	Trent Tomoniko	Neepawa
Grady Trotz	Forrest	Tristan Plaisier	Virden
Jamie Thiessen	Oak Lake	William Hamilton	Killarney
Jesaiah Smith	Brandon	Yesenia Zavala	Brandon
Joel Lovett	Killarney	Zac McKenzie	Nesbitt
Jorja MacDonald	Ninette		
Josh Nicholson	Killarney		

BOARD MEMBERS

Denise Cox • Coral Meggison • Tara Cameron-Tilokani

Jean Lawson • Sylvie Tomoniko • Marlin Peters • Kristen Nerbas • Sarah Hall

Bob Penner • Grant Jackson • Shawna Mozdzen • Jackie Sallows • Liesel Krahn

Follow Us!





REPETOIRE

All Ye who Music Love - Thomas Oliphant and Balthazar Donato

As Torrents in Summer – Poetry - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow,

Music - Edward Elgar

Ballade to the Moon - Daniel Elder

Beati Quorum Via - Charles Villiers Stanford

Call Yourself Beautiful – Laura Hawley

Soloist: Ava Irwin

Does the World Say? - Kyle Pederson

Soloists: Charley Dunning, Arlo Connery-Dwyer,

Ethan Fulford, Annika Laluk

Hela Rotan – Indonesian Folk Song, arr. Ken Steven

Jabberwocky – Sam Pottle

Percussion Ensemble: Maia Placatka, Jun Long, Ethan Fulford, Owen Raes, Jesaiah Smith, Arlo Connery-Dwyer, Yesenia Zavala

J'entends le Moulin (from Trois Chansons Folkloriques) – arr. Donald Patriquin

Kahkiyaw Oskâyak (All the Young People) - Sherryl Sewepagaham

Soloist: Elise Armitage

Let the River Run - Carly Simon, arr. Craig Hella Johnson

Djembe - Soloist: Ethan Fulford

Lo Dello: the Dance - Hannah Cohoon, arr. Jennifer Lucy Cook

Soloists: Yesenia Zavala, Maia Placatka

Loch Lomond – Traditional Scottish, arr. Jonathan Quick

Soloists: Lucas Park, Owen Raes

No Time - Traditional Camp Meeting Songs, arr. Susan Brumfield

Paraiso - Ryan Cayabyab, arr. Christopher Borela

Soloists: Angel Rabanal, Sheen Calamba,

Jesaiah Smith, Owen Raes

Stars – Poetry - Sara Teasdale, Music - Ēriks Ešenvalds

Featured Glass Artists: Grady Trotz, Bella Penner, Marc Strang

Dannah Pentney, Logan Tannas, Joel Lovett

Stars Above and Earth Below - Poetry - Sara Teasdale, Music - Rob Swenson

The Dreamers of Dreams - Gwyneth Walker

Vocalise - Gabriel Fauré – arr. Kenneth Neufeld

Clarinet Soloist: Lia Harder

Voice on the Wind - Sarah Quartel

Soloists: Adriana Hoskin, Devin Kermon-Forsyth